Summer Games Done Quick features consecutive Elden Ring races

The schedule for the quick summer games event that runs from June 26th to July 3rd has been revealed. It seems like a pretty stacked lineup this year, but I’ve listed some of the spicier entries below:

Ocarina of Time Beta Show

Friday, July 3rd, 4:57 pm PST / 12:57 am BST

dwangoAC, TASBot, saved state, sauraen

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time underwent significant changes until its release in 1998, and last year a collection of early versions of maps cut during development leaked online. Modders managed to get them to work in the game, and this showcase looks like it could be a deep and informative dive into those early designs.

Super Hot VR Any%

Saturday, July 2nd, 7:21 am PST / 3:21 pm BST

davidtki

The mega stylish Superhot time-stop shooter is a natural fit for both speedrunning and VR, so davidtki’s planned run feels like a slam dunk for GDQ. We previously covered the joys of speedrunning VR with Buffet Time half-life: Alyx run at SGDQ 2020, and he also has a race scheduled for this year’s event. I don’t know if the novelty of a VR speedrun will wear off for me. It seems quite physically demanding – finally, a quick run for the athletes.

Elden Ring All Memories/Any% back-to-back

Saturday, July 2, 7:25 PM, 9:35 PM PST / Sunday, July 3, 3:25 AM, 5:35 AM BST

catalyst, HYP3RSOMNIAC

It seems that everyone has caught Elden Ring fever these days, and the rapid contraction of their world record any% to less than nine minutes shortly after release was a sight to behold. SGDQ is running that blink-and-you-will-lose-any% per catalyst right after an “all memories” marathon of HYP3RSOMNIAC. All Remembrances entails killing all the main (and some optional) bosses in the game, but luckily not each last of Elden Ring’s 165 bad boys with big health bars: Souls series speedrunner LilAggy appears to hold the world record there with a colossal 7:45:45 hour.

Mass Effect Any% Without Mako

Sunday, June 26, 12:48 pm PST / 8:48 pm BST

MikeWave

A “No Mako” run of BioWare’s classic sci-fi ARPG implies breaking boundaries in the game world, so you don’t have to use ME1’s infamous offroad APC. I’m just outraged that these speedrunners are avoiding what is objectively, undeniably, the best part of the game. I’m not kidding, no Mako slander in my house.

Leave a Comment